Far North fire ban in action

October 19, 2023 6:59 am in by

A fire ban has been imposed for the entire Far Northern region.

The local fire ban is now in place for residents in the Aurukun, Cairns, Cook, Douglas, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Mapoon, Napranum, Northern Peninsula Area, Pormpuraaw, Torres, Torres Strait, Weipa, Wujal Wujal, Yarrabah, Cassowary Coast, Mareeba, Tabelands, Croydon and Etheridge Local Government Areas.

Current fire conditions are perfect for bushfires to ignite and spread quickly.

Article continues after this ad

Under a local fire ban all open fires are prohibited and all Permits to Light Fire which have been issued in the designated areas have been cancelled.

Power tools may be used during a local fire ban, however QFES encourages people to use these with extreme care and ensure adequate equipment is available to extinguish any fire which may start.

The ban is expected to remain in place until 11.59pm on Monday, October 23.