FNQ fire ban extended

October 24, 2023 7:10 am in by

A local fire ban for Far Northern Region residents has been extended for a further seven days.

It will affect residents in the Aurukun, Cairns, Cook, Douglas, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Mapoon, Napranum, Northern Peninsula Area, Pormpuraaw, Torres, Torres Strait, Weipa, Wujal Wujal, Yarrabah, Cassowary Coast, Mareeba, Tablelands, Croydon and Etheridge Local Government Areas.

The ban on all fires will remain until 11.59pm next Monday.

Article continues after this ad

Current fire conditions are perfect for bushfires to ignite and spread quickly.

QFES is reminding us that all fires are prohibited and all Permits to Light Fire which have been issued in the designated areas have been cancelled.

Power tools may be used during a local fire ban, however QFES encourages people to use these with extreme care and ensure adequate equipment is available to extinguish any fire which may start.